# SCHOOL ADVISORY COUNCIL

## GRIFFIN ELEMENTARY SCHOOL'S MINUTES

Date: October 28, 2024

Time: 2:15 PM

Location: 5050 SW 116 Avenue, Cooper City, FL 33330 (754)-323-5900

#### CALL TO ORDER

A meeting of the Griffin Elementary School SAC was held on Monday, October 28, 2024 in the Media Center. SAC Chair- Mrs. Chmura called the meeting to order at 2:29 p.m. Ms. Novack recorded the minutes of the meeting.

#### INTRODUCTIONS AND ATTENDANCE

All members were present except for Peter Han, Robert Creed, Yamilet Ortiz, Stephanie Reilly and Ayanna Villanueva.

### APPROVAL OR CORRECTION OF SEPTEMBER 23, 2024 MINUTES

A motion was made by Germain Goffney to approve the October minutes. Jacqueline Sanchez seconded the motion. The minutes were approved unanimously.

#### **REPORTS**

Principal's Report:

Thank you to PTA for Fun Run Kick-off
Shared tracking data on student progress - On track to meet SIP goals
Accountability money has not been allocated as of yet.
Shared fifth grade departmentalized in team of three

- Accountability Funds (Current Balance: \$10,675.42):
   As stated in principal's report funds have not been allocated
- School Improvement Plan (SIP) Monitoring:
   Tracking of student progress to meet SIP goal WIGS

• School Environmental Safety Incident Reporting (SESIR): No incidents to report

#### **NEW BUSINESS**

Mrs. Chmura made a motion to add Christina Vega as a SAC member under an instructional position. Ms. Goffney seconded the motion.

All were in favor of the motion.

Motion passed.

Florida School Recognition Program (A+ Funds):

Review of Proposals:

Mrs. Chmura reviewed history of Florida School Recognition Program

This year's deadline is February 1, 2025

\$83,012 allocated minus money for benefits totaling \$76,249.00

Shared Ballot Proposal received from faculty ad staff:

#1- All full-time employees (inclusive of Denise Correa, Vikki Goettert, Eusebio Cambindo, and Dara Gomez) list on the attend roster will receive an equal share The following employees will receive 50% of a share: Liz, Mike Andrews, Elssy Green, Florence Streitz, Bernatine Ivery, Alyssa Brennan.

The following employees will receive 25% of a share: Ashleigh Lohnes, Elizabeth Aronson.

The remaining 50% of a share will be spent by May 31, 2025 by administration to purchase student or staff incentives

- #2 80% of monies to be distributed to all classroom teachers equally 20% of monies to be distributed to the rest of the school faculty \*\*only faculty who worked 100% of the year is included in the distribution.
- #3 Monies split evenly, except for those that were not at Griffin for the full 2023-2024 year. In which case, those employees would receive the percentages indicated below:

Itinerant Personnel (25% of a share):

Rosemary Eljaua – School Psychologist

Vikki Gottert - OT 4/30/24

Yolanda Pinto – School Social Worker

Exceptions (50% of a share):

Rosie Bencivenga – 50% part time

Melissa Franklin – works at 3 schools

Exceptions (75% of a share):

Denise Correa – was part time 70% and then full time 30%

**New Hires** 

50% of a share: Alyssa Brennan 2/15/24 50% of a share: Elizabeth Connor 3/5/24 25% of a share: Ashleigh Lohnes 4/18/24

Resigned

75% of a share: Dora Gomez 4/26/24

Retired

50% of a share: Elyssy Green 12/28/23 75% of a share: Florence Streitz 2/10/24\*

Transferred

50% of a share: Michael Andrews 1/24/24

75% of a share: Eusebio (Mr. E) Cambindo 4/28/24

\*Was inadvertently left off last year

Note: Anyone terminated would not be included in the distribution.

#4 70% to all teachers, support, etc....

And the 30% to clerical, cafeteria, Custodians, paras.

#5 95% of the A+ School Recognition Funds will be allocated for bonuses to all eligible (SBBC permanent employees) staff members who wer employed at Griffin Elementary chool for a minimum of 99 days or more during the 2023-2024 school year. Instructional staff will evenly receive 55% of the allocated funds and Non-Instructional staff will evenly receive 45% of the allocated funds

The School Psychologist, Social Worker, and Occupational Therapist will each receive \$250.00.

5% of the A+ School Recognition Funds will be allocated towards the school's discretionary fund to benefit the students at Griffin Elementary School.

#### Review of Proposals:

\*Motion to remove proposal #3 by G. Goffney, Maria Bracamonte seconded the motion.

All voting parties in favor to remove: In Favor 8 - A. Baquedano, M. Bracamonte, G. Goffney,
A. Jones, J. Sanchez, K. Schiller, H. Sherman and C. Vega

Opposed 5 – M. Beltran, C. Bryson, D. Chmura, T. Novack, L. Strickland

\*Motion to remove proposal #2 by J. Sanchez, Germaine Goffney Second the motion.

All voting member voted to remove – A. Baquedano, M. Beltran, M. Bracamonte, D. Chmura,
G. Goffney, A. Moodliyar, T. Novack, C. Bryson, L. Strickland, J. Sanchez, K. Schiller, H. Sherman,
and C. Vega

\*Motion to remove proposal #4 by J. Sanchez, H. Sherman Second the motion. Voting to remove – In favor, 6-J. Sanchez, C. Bryson, L. Strickland, H. Sherman, M. Bracamonte, and M. Beltran.

Opposed – 7, D. Chmura, T. Novack, C. Vega, G. Goffney, A. Baquedano, A. Jones, and K. Schiller

\*Motion to amend Proposal #1 by J. Snanchez, Germain Goffney Second the motion.

\*Add R. Bencivenga at 50% and move V. Gottert to 25% and add Yolanda Pinto & Rosemary Eljaua

•

- Motion to add cafeteria manager at 35% by J. Sanchez, Germaine Goffney Second the motion.
- Motion to remove remaining 50% of a share to Mike Andews, Elssy Green, Florence, Streitz, Bernatine Ivery, & Alyssa Brennan
- Motion to include 5% off the top to go to discretionary funds to benefit students.

In favor 6, M. Beltran, A. Jones, H. Sherman, C. Bryson, L. Strickland, J. Sanchez

Opposed 4 – T. Novack, G. Goffney, C. Vega, and A. Baquedano

\*Motion to amend proposal #4 by Germain Goffney, Jacqueline Sanchez Second the motion.

\*70% to all instructional staff and administration

\*30% to all non-instructional staff

\* Add 5% to students

All voting members in agreement- M. Beltran, A. Jones, H. Sherman, C. Bryson, L. Strickland, J. Sanchez, T. Novack, D. Chmura, C. Vega, A. Baquedano and G. Goffney

\*Motion to amend proposal #5 by Jacqueline Sanchez, Germaine Goffney Second the motion.

\*Change 55% to 60% allocation for Instructional staff

\*Change 45% to 40% allocation for non-instructional staff

Vote to remain at 55% allocation for instructional staff and 45% allocation for non-instructional staff

In favor -3 – J. Sanchez, G. Goffney, and H. Sherman

Opposed – A. Baquedano, C. Bryson, D. Chmura, A. Jones, T. Novack, L. Strickland, and C. Vega, and M. Beltran

Mrs. Chmura presented all three proposals –

All present voting members in agreements to have amended proposal # 1 and proposal #5 to appear on the ballot with a non of the above option.

A. Baquedano, M. Beltran, C. Bryson, D. Chmura, G. Goffney, A. Jones, T. Novack, L. Strickland, J. Sanchez, H. Sherman, and C. Vega

Proposals will be shared with staff & community

Voting to take place on Monday, November 4, 2024.

Opened floor for questions and concerns - none

#### **OLD BUSINESS**

None

#### **NEXT MEETING AND ADJORNMENT**

If an additional meeting on proposals needed – November 12, 2024

Motion to close at 3:37pm by Marialejandra Beltran, Larissa Renna Strickland Second the motion.

Next monthly meeting – December 2, 2024